With a heavy heart, I leave the Lib Dems

Friends,

It is with great sadness that I am writing this.

The last couple of days have been spent thinking a lot about the direction of politics in the United Kingdom and, above all, the recent European elections which gave disastrous results to the Liberal Democrats, the party that I have been a member of for the last 18 months.

It’s been a pleasure over the last four and a half years getting to know so many activists from various political groupings across the country. I’ve especially enjoyed meeting some great colleagues in the Liberal Democrats in the last 18 months, but I now don’t feel I am right for the party, nor that the party is right for me.

I have decided to take a break for the time being from party politics in the UK due to the fact that I feel that no one British political party can adequately represent me. Over the last few weeks, I’ve considered a lot of different options, including staying with the Liberal Democrats (which until Sunday I was contemplating), however Sunday’s results and the fall-out from them forced me to reconsider this position.

Some of you will inevitably try to persuade me over the next couple of weeks to re-join the Labour Party or to join the Greens, but I wish for this break to last at least 6 months in length (whilst I’m in Barcelona).

One thought on “With a heavy heart, I leave the Lib Dems

  1. Well Ellis, it is wise to take a breath and reflect on things sometimes. I have to say that it is hard to know who to support when they say one thing and do another. (Like many people I was won over by Nick Clegg in 2010 and then felt as if he betrayed everyone who voted for him). As you are a fellow veggie, maybe the Greens will interest you in future – their recent Euro literature was the only one which mentioned animal welfare. This got me listening. Enjoy Barcelona! x

Leave a Reply

